On November 9th, 2016, 32 new members were inducted into La Societa’ Onoraria Italica, Sezione Francesco Redi (Italian Honor Society, Francesco Redi Chapter). The goals of the Italian Honor Society are to give recognition to students who have achieved excellence in Italian studies as well as to promote a greater understanding and appreciation of Italian culture and civilization. In order to qualify for membership, the students must have completed two full years of Italian with a grade of 90% or better, and maintain a minimum overall GPA of 85%.
The ceremony was held in the Westlake High School auditorium with many friends and family in attendance.  Welcoming remarks were presented by Italian Club vice presidents, Briana Zambardi and Frank Veltri followed by a chapter greeting by IHS President Michael Pullano.  Mr. Pullano expressed his gratitude and thanks to the wonderful teachers he has encountered throughout his Italian studies and presented a bouquet of roses to IHS Advisor Professoressa Rosanna Caringi as well as Signora Francesca Bellomusto.  Professoressa Caringi then read the names of the 2017 inductees.  Superintendent Dr. Susan Guiney and Westlake HS Assistant Principal Dan Novak presented each student with certificates and medals.  Once the students crossed the stage, they signed their name to the official IHS register and lit a candle to signify the promise to carry forth a love of language and culture through multicultural understanding. Finally, the newly inducted members recited an oath promising to dedicate themselves to the study of the Italian language.  At the conclusion of the ceremony all in attendance enjoyed refreshments and celebrated the accomplishments of these high achieving students. Congratulazioni!
2017 Italian Honor Society Inductees
Sebastian Bogado
Gina Calvi
Zachary Chapins
Vanessa DelDuca
Joseph Di Liberti
Daniella Drossas
Joseph Ferri
Olivia Fratta
Brianna Greto
Angelina Guarnieri
Taylor Karagi
Vanessa Lembo
Christina Mangione
Gabriella Maniscalco
Anthony Minda
Daniella Mulvey
Robert Musial
Tanner Neal
Arianna Palmiero
Aaron Perl
Nicholas Pippo
Vincenzo Pullano
Julia Remo
Ariana Rich
Nick Rivello
Julianna Roma
Joseph Ruggiero
Angelica Seigler
Vincent Sica
Nicholas Tobiasen
Juliana Urrico
Samuel Viveros