Italian Honor Society Induction 2020

On February 11, 2020, 28 new members were inducted into La Società Onoraria Italica, Sezione Francesco Redi (Italian Honor Society, Francesco Redi Chapter). The goals of the Italian Honor Society are to give recognition to students who have achieved excellence in Italian studies as well as to promote a greater understanding and appreciation of Italian culture and civilization. In order to qualify for membership, the students must have completed two full years of Italian with a grade of 90% or better and be signed up to continue with the Level 4 Italian course. Additionally, they must maintain a minimum overall GPA of 85%.

The ceremony was held in the Westlake High School auditorium with many friends and family in attendance.  Welcoming remarks were presented by Italian Club co-presidents, Marissa Tradito and Arianna Muratore, Vice President Sadie Feighan, followed by a chapter greeting by IHS co-presidents, Samantha LaScala and Peter Cavazzini.  Other Italian Honor Society and Italian Club members explained the significance of being inducted into the society. Westlake HS Principal Keith Schenker and Assistant Principal Ken Amann presented each student with certificates and medals.  Once the students crossed the stage, they signed their name to the official IHS register and lit a candle to signify the promise to carry forth a love of language and culture through multicultural understanding. Finally, the newly inducted members recited an oath, led by Christopher Villucci, promising to dedicate themselves to the study of the Italian language.  IHS Advisor, Professoressa Francesca Bellomusto welcomed the new inductees and expressed her pleasure of the dedication all these students have shown in studying the Italian language and culture since she had them freshman year. At the conclusion of the ceremony all in attendance enjoyed the delicious homemade treats provided by the inductees families to celebrate the accomplishments of these high achieving students. Congratulazioni!

Italian Honor Society Inductees 2019-20:

Stefano Ammaturo Sophia Garritano Nicholas Mulvey
Alyssa Bange Ava Infantino Joseph Piazza
Phoebe Barnes Olivia Lembo Joseph Ragusa
Olivia Barnett Matheus Louzada Rachel Raguso
Sally Cangialosi Vito Malaj Cristopher Rizzi
Lynn Cappa Gabriela Martinez Luca Sica
Jonathan Clemente Thomas Marto Theodora Sinis
Olivia D’Andrea Nino Mastracchio Amanda Smyth
Diana DeMartino Nicholas Mathisen  
Nicholas Farrell Emma Milo