National Honor Society 2020

Fifty-eight juniors and seniors were inducted into Westlake High School’s chapter of the National Honor Society in a ceremony on January 7, 2020.  Surrounded by friends and family, newly inducted students took the oath to uphold the ideals of the nearly 100 year old organization.  Principal Keith Schenker gave accolades to the students in his welcome speech "Induction into the National Honor Society is more than just a symbolic gesture meant to fill a line on a college application; it is an affirmation on the part of your teachers, administrators and parents that you have committed your life, thus far, to the successful pursuit of scholarship, leadership, character and service."  He reminded them that they have the power to shape the future of our country.

New inductees are:

Lauren Abate Connor Cronin Brandon Martinez Deanna Reynolds
Angelica Alvarez Carter Falkenberg Thomas Marto Stephanie Rosenberg
Stefano Ammaturo Nicholas Farrell Aileen McCarthy Emily Salvi
Ashley Avella Sophia Garritano Alicia McCarvill Elisabeth Schulze
Ariel Babich Nina Grosso Emma Milo Maeve Sheehan
Alyssa Bange Alyssa Gutierrez Daniella Moschetta Amanda Smyth
Phoebe Barnes James Hudson Nicholas Mulvey Rain Spearman
Olivia Barnett Kristin Iannucci James Murray Noah Tarchoun
Alessandra Blasone Zachary Katzman Matthew Mynes Lily Tobiasen
Lynn Cappa Olivia Lembo Evan O'Brien Pranav Vadapalli
Elisabeth Carpinelli Patrick Lilly Alessia Pellegrini Jillian Walpole
Olivia Cartano Samanatha Lubart Marco Petrillo Mia Williams
Richard Clarke Vito Malaj Joseph Piazza Jhonatan Yunga
Jonathan Clemente Abbey Martin Julie Pinchiaroli  
Ryan Cowles Grace Martin Rachel Raguso  




Congratulations to Niko Dominguez, the 2020 winner of the 20th annual Aimee Braun Travel/Study Award.  The award is presented by Drs. Carl and Norma Braun in memory of their daughter, a Westlake alum.  The award commemorates her devotion to others and honors students who have given of themselves in the same way Aimee did.

Niko Dominguez was a natural choice for the award this year.  He is described by teachers and peers as upstanding, hardworking, conscientious and genuine.  He has dedicated countless hours to volunteer work. He is a member of both the Thornwood Fire Jr. Corp. and the Pleasantville Ambulance Jr. Corp. Niko also spends time working for the Mount Pleasant Parks and Recreation office and for the Westlake High School Stage Crew.  During any production in the Whearty theater, you will find him in the control booth making sure the sound and lights are running smoothly (in fact, he was there when he was called to accept his award!). Niko hopes to continue his passion for theater design/technology in college next year.  Congratulations, Niko!